WE 98 Introduction



logo_waweWorking Equitation became a competitive sport in 1996 along with its first European championship being held in Italy the same year. Working Equitation is recognized as a sport in many countries, mostly in South America and Europe, and all countries have their own governing body.

Detail Description

Working Equitation is an equestrian discipline and the world regulatory body for this sport is the World Association for Working Equitation (WAWE). The Working Equitation discipline is intended to promote competition between traditional styles of riding used during fieldwork in various countries and also to act as a showcase for traditional riding costumes and equipment. The sport tests the horse and rider’s partnership and ability to maneuver obstacles.

There are four different levels of Working Equitation: Novice, Intermediate, Junior and Advanced. At the advanced level, the rider must ride with only one hand, most commonly his or her left hand, on the reins.

Competition events may be individual or in teams involve three or four parts, in this order:

  • Dressage: in which the horse and rider perform obligatory movements in a freestyle dressage test to music within a specified period of time.
  • Ease of Handling Trial: and agility-type event in which horses must master obstacles similar to those likely to appear in the field, such as bridges and gates. The obstacle course is designed to show the partnership between horse and rider.
  • Speed: where similar obstacles must be mastered, but against time.
  • Cow: (only for team competitions) in which four team members separate a specified number of cows from a group.
Dressage Trial
Maneability Trial
Speed Trial
Cow Trial
Back to: WE 98 (an Introduction)